Stupak and Swine Flu and Sex. Oh Fucking My.

           I’ve been feeling rather icky lately, and unfortunately have quarantined myself in my room. Feminists shouldn’t be allowed to have H1N1. It keeps us from fucking up the patriarchy to the best of our ability. It also keeps us out of Poli Sci 2700 and I’m getting anxious about my class work. While I’ve been on my ass, there’s been news happening.

          First and foremost, one of the biggest both/and moments ever occurred this last weekend. All summer, we’ve been working towards getting real, true healthcare reform passed in the House of Representatives. This has caused turmoil all over the country and has sparked some of the most heated debates I’ve ever witnessed. Progressives fought for a public option and managed to pull it off in the end. Last saturday, the healthcare reform passed in the lower house. I was so ready to be thrilled and fired up about this, but Bart Stupak  and anti-choice representatives decided to shit all the fuck over my happiness. This “blue-dog” democrat stuck his name on the biggest restriction on women’s reproduction healthcare since the Hyde Amendment in 1977.  This bullshit implies I should start saving up just in case I have an unplanned pregnancy, because I sure as hell am not getting any help from anyone else. I am almost still too angry to have coherent thoughts about this. Its like we couldn’t manage to pass any big legislation without making sure it cheats women out of something. I want to be excited about this landmark, but I can’t. I even had a dream that I was in an elevator talking with other campus dems about how I would never support the bill unless the senate took out the offending amendment. This shit is working it’s way into my dreams, this can’t be healthy. Read this nonsense here: http://www.docstoc.com/docs/15284081/Stupak-Amendment-to-HR-3962-Rev-108

        Speaking of unhealthy, I am one lonely, rom-com filled, LOFNOTC laiden weekend away from chucking my shoes at couples that hold hands in public. I’ve been trapped in my room alone since sunday night and it’s given me an unhealthy amount of time to reflect on my singleness. It’s nice to have time to get to know yourself and what not, but for fuck’s sake I’m a lonely girl. I can’t watch Love Actually without fanning myself. I can’t say the word “orgasm” without wanting to take an hour long shower. All I can say is that I’m so glad I invested in this single room or my life would be a lot more inconvenient. I see my friends in all these lovely, committed relationships and I like seeing them happy, only it reminds me that I’m not. They have people that want to know everything about their lives. I just want someone that will let me eat takeout with them in bed around three times a week. Time to go consult The Boss and buy some more triple A batteries.

Leave a Reply

